Best Documentary Short – “Home” (USA)

Title: Home
Runtime: 30 min
Country: USA
Director: Sue Schroeder & Adam Larsen
Placement: Best Documentary Short
Competition: March, 2024





– ecology, from the Greek oikos, or “house, and logia, or “the study of,” denoting the study of the relationship between organisms in the house of life

home embodies universes of thought and feeling, huddled together in a finite space. home, the entwined vision and collaboration of Adam Larsen (filmmaker) and Sue Schroeder (dancemaker), exists within a metaphorical context, connecting the foundations of human existence — home, the body and nature — as inextricably linked, and acts as a record of a search for truth and the native beauty of reality. Our relationship to the earth and one another are experienced viscerally through the integration of nature, architecture, story and the moving body through film. Illustrated as a large arc, our story stretches between finding and losing oneself, reflections on the places we call home, with an emphasis on nature in human nature.

Filmed in France and Poland, Larsen and Schroeder, alongside an international community of gifted artists – from Columbia, France, Germany, Israel, Poland and the US- seek to create connection, impact, and meaning through a visually rich and poetic experience of beauty and loss, tenderness and urgency, action and recognition, mirroring and magnifying light. The work is gentle and steadfast, sharing and protecting life and in its surest moments, revealing the “we”, instead of the “I”. 

home offers an enduring gift of reminding us how art becomes a lens on the world, on space and on time — a pinhole through which we can magnify the significance of our world, what we build and eventually leave behind.

Out of devotion to beauty, Larsen and Schroeder offer an homage that stands as a treasure at the intersection of art and life preserved through film, restored by touch, excavated by hand, and seeded into new life forms…home.

Collaborating Artists

Natalia Chylińska (Poland)

Juana M. Farfan (Colombia/US)

Gilad Jerusalmy (Israel)

Adam Larsen (US)

Christian Meyer (Belgium/Germany)

Coralie Neuville (France)

Katarzyna Pastuszak (Poland)

Sue Schroeder (US)

Thierry Sterckval (Belgium/France)

Sarah Turquety (France)